slide1 slide2 slide3 slide4 slide5 slide6 slide7 slide8 lanka_sugar_wish

The opening ceremony of the sugarcane crushing season of the year 2021 commenced on 18th February 2021 at auspicious time 09.25 am. The event was held at the Pelwatte factory premises. The chief guest was attended by Minister of Plantation Industries Hon. Dr. Ramesh Pathirana and State Minister of Export Promotion Hon. Janaka Wakkumbura.

Addressing the gathering, Minister of Plantation Industries Hon. Ramesh Pathirana emphasized the importance of strengthening the local economy by achieving corporate production goals.

State Minister of Export Promotion Hon. Janaka Wakkumbura said that he was very pleased with the progress made by the company in a short period of time with the appointment of the new management. He said that the expected sugarcane harvest during this year as well as the production of sugar and spirits would be achieved and that his support would continue to be forthcoming. He further said that he appreciates the dividends earned by the company through proper regulation and further extended the Government's support to further enhance the commitment of the employees including the management.

Addressing the gathering, Hon.Janaka Nimalachandra said that plans have already been made to make Ceylon Sugar Ltd. the best state institution by 2025 through the quantitative and qualitative developments being carried out within the company during this short period. All employees were urged to be a part of it and reap its benefits. It was also informed that action should be taken to surpass the expected sugarcane harvest of 450,000 metric tons this year and the dedication of Hon.Janaka Wakkumbura to the institutional development activities was especially appreciated.

During the ceremony, a "special documentary short film" was aired from inception of the Pelwatte unit to the present.

The event was organized under the guidance of COO Major Vajira Kumaratunga and was attended by distinguished guests including State Minister of Education Hon.Vijitha Berugoda, Member of Parliament for Monaragala District Hon.Jagath Pushpakumara, Secretary to the Ministry of Export Agriculture Hon.Rohana Abhayaratne, Additional Secretary, Ministry of Export Agriculture Hon.Thilaka Jayasundara, Director, Ministry of Export Agriculture - Development Hon.Ransilu Watawala as well as the staff of the institute following the health guidelines.


fblogo  youtubeicon  lktweet

Visit the Official Web Site of our ministry for more details Ministry of Plantation and State Ministry of Development of Minor Crops including Sugarcane, Maize, Cashew, Pepper, Cinnamon, Cloves, Betel Related Industries and Export Promotion


© Copyright LankaCom